The Player of the Year ceremony was held on Sunday 04 October 2015:

Lukasz Cieslewicz, B36 Tórshavn
Player of the Year

Few would argue against Lukasz Cieslewicz being the best player in the Faroese league and again he was arguably the main factor behind B36’s title this season just as the Pole was last year also and in his first season in the Faroe Islands in 2011. 

With superb skills he’s virtually impossible for defenders to stop when he goes at them, and when B36 needs him to produce the goods, he does – not least in the big games; for example in the 1-0 win over Víkingur late in the season where it was he who scored the goal that virtually secured B36 the title.

Tórður Thomsen, B36 Tórshavn
Goalkeeper of the Year

With fewest goals conceded, 25, Tórður Thomsen was always going to be amongst the favourites for the goalkeeper honour, and although he has also been aided by a strong defence and a strong team as a whole that was not often put under pressure, Thomsen was there when he was needed and has been very stable throughout the season, managing seven clean sheets and was the only goalkeeper who did not concede to top scorer Klæmint Olsen.

Eyðun Klakstein, B36 Tórshavn
Coach of the Year

When you have guided your team to the league title, the Coach of the Year title often follows suit.

Already in the super cup match ahead of the league start, B36 showed signs of their well-polished attacking play from the previous year, and although not having had the services of last season’s Player of the Year in Adeshina Lawal, Klakstein has managed superbly to always field a strong side despite having had a fair share of injuries to deal with as well.

Klakstein, in his first season for B36, is also the first coach who has managed to retain a title for the club.

Jóhannes Bjartalíð, KÍ Klaksvík
Young Player of the Year

The debut-season in the top division for 19-year old attacking midfielder Jóhannes Bjartalíð became a very memorable one, playing in all of the 27 league matches and scoring 8 goals and making another 14 assists.  Definitely one to keep an eye on in the future. 

Golden Boot to
Klæmint A. Olsen, NSÍ Runavík

25-year old striker Klæmint A. Olsen won the golden boot for the third time in succession by scoring 21 goals through the season; one less that last year, but the same tally as in 2013. He at least should have made it 23 this season though as he missed twice from the penalty spot – the only penalties NSÍ got during the whole season. The only club Olsen didn´t score against was B36 Tórshavn.

For long, Olsen was on schedule to break the record of 24 goals in one season held by Súni Fríði Barbá and Uni Arge, but with no goal in his last four matches, that record eluded him. 

Defender of the Year:  Odmar Færø, B36 Tórshavn

Midfielder of the Year: Lukasz Cieslewicz, B36 Tórshavn 

Forward of the Year: Klæmint A. Olsen, NSÍ Runavík

Team of the Year:

Tórður Thomsen, B36 Tórshavn

Defenders: Høgni Eysturoy (B36 Tórshavn), Odmar Færø (B36 Tórshavn), Atli Gregersen (Víkingur), Pól Jóhannus Justinussen (NSÍ Runavík).

Midfielders: Árni Frederiksberg (NSÍ Runavík), Sølvi Vatnhamar (Víkingur), Lukasz Cieslewicz (B36 Tórshavn), Hans Pauli Samuelsen (B36 Tórshavn).

Forwards: Klæmint Olsen (NSÍ Runavík), Finnur Justinussen (Víkingur)

The votes were cast by the captains and the coaches of the 10 Effodeildin teams as well as the national coach, the U21 coaches and the press.

Previous Player of the Year Awards:
Player of the Year Awards 2014
Player of the Year Awards 2013
Player of the Year Awards 2012
Player of the Year Awards 2011
Player of the Year Awards 2010
Player of the Year Awards 2009
Player of the Year Awards 2008
Player of the Year Awards 2007
Player of the Year Awards 2006
Player of the Year Awards 2005

Faroe Islands Football News
Soccer and Equipment home