October 25, 2011: Player of the Year Awards:

Lukasz Cieslewicz, B36 Tórshavn
Player of the Year

Although B36's title was very much a result of team work, they wouldn’t have won it without some of the terrific individual efforts from 23-year old Polish striker Lukasz Cieslewicz. When the team struggled to produce the goods, it was often Cieslewicz who got them out of jail with an individual effort. It was also Cieslewicz who scored the winning goal in the 2-1 win over NSÍ Runavík in the penultimate round that secured B36 the title.

The striker has got terrific skills, is physically strong and gets past defenders with speed which makes it very difficult to stop him when he enters the penalty box.

With 17 goals during the season, Cieslewicz was no. 3 on the top scorer list.

Cieslewicz joined B36 ahead of the season from Danish club Hvidovre who now play in the 3rd tier. Before Hvidovre, he had been with Brøndby IF's youth department for several years.

But Cieslewicz wasn't quite unfamiliar with the Faroe Islands as he lived here for several years as a kid while his father Robert played for different Faroese clubs, among others VB Vágur when they won the Faroese championship in 2000.

René Tórgarð, EB/Streymur
Goalkeeper of the Year

EB/Streymur goalkeeper René Tórgarð picked up his second goalkeeper-of-the-year award in his career, as he also won the award in 2006.

Tórgarð’s most memorable moment this season was probably when he played his first competitive international in the European Championship qualifier against Italy where he produced a whole host of superb saves to limit the defeat to 0-1 and where the Faroese twice hit the woodwork.

Tórgarð conceded 33 goals in 27 league matches and kept 7 clean sheets. Interestingly, the exact same figures as last year’s goalkeeper of the year, Andras Gango, had.

Tórgarð also kept a clean sheet in the cup final where EB/Streymur beat ÍF Fuglafjørður 3-0 and in he away match in the Europa League against Qarabag FK from Aserbadjan.

John Petersen and Mikkjal Thomassen,
B36 Tórshavn
Coaches of the Year

It wasn't unexpected that the coaching duo of the title winners, John Petersen and Mikkjal Thomassen, were awarded with this award.

However, after two lacklustre seasons where they even flirted with relegation, not many had B36 as title favourites ahead of the season, but the coaches have done a remarkably job of guiding their team which in addition to being well organized also has played quite attractive football for the most.

With only two league defeats, both against EB/Streymur, B36 set a new record in reaching 67 points and thereby beating NSÍ Runavík's record from 2007 when they earned 61 points. In 2005 the league was extended from 18 to 27 matches.

The coaches are said to be quite dissimilar as types, but complement each other perfectly to get a perfect blend. You could maybe say they are "bad cop and good cop". Then it's Thomassen, who is a cop by profession - narcotics police - who is "the bad cop" while Petersen, who is a school teacher, is the "good cop".

Klæmint A. Olsen, NSÍ Runavík
Young Player of the Year

With a 5th place in last season’s top scorer list with 11 goals for NSÍ, forward Klæmint Olsen caught many any because of his effective finishing abilities.

This season, the 21 year old proved that last season was no fluke as he ended second in this season’s top scorer list with 18 goals; 3 goals short of top scorer Finnur Justinussen.

Justinussen is currently part of the Faroe Islands U21 team and has previously appeared for the U19 as well as the U17 team.

Golden Boot to
Finnur Justinussen, Víkingur

22 year-old Víkingur striker Finnur Justinussen picked up his second golden boot of his career as he also topped the scoring chart in 2009.

This season he scored 21 league goals.

Justinussen’s timing is second to none as he always manages to be on the right place at the right time which makes many of his goals to look so easy.

Below is a video compilation of his 2009 season:

The votes were cast by the captains and the coaches of the 10 Vodafone Division teams and the press.

Player of the Year Awards:
Player of the Year Awards 2013
Player of the Year Awards 2012

Player of the Year Awards 2010
Player of the Year Awards 2009
Player of the Year Awards 2008
Player of the Year Awards 2007
Player of the Year Awards 2006
Player of the Year Awards 2005

| Faroese Soccer |
| Home of Soccer and Equipment |

Share this page: