The Player of the Year ceremony was held on Saturday 9 November 2013:

Fróði Benjaminsen, HB Tórshavn
Player of the Year

HB-captain, midfielder Fróði Benjaminsen – who is also assistant coach - picked up his fourth Player of the Year award as he was once again the outstanding player on central midfield and was also HB’s top scorer with 11 goals.

Benjaminsen, who turns 36 in December, had hesitated with his decision whether he would retire or not, but has however decided that he will continue for (at least) another season. With 79 caps for the Faroe Islands, Benjaminsen is closing in on Óli Johannesen’s all-time record of 83 internationals.  

Teitur M. Gestsson, HB Tórshavn
Goalkeeper of the Year

It was clear from the start that HB Tórshavn had gotten their hands on a top-drawer goalkeeper when Teitur Gestsson made his home-debut for HB Tórshavn a month before he turned 18-years old in a Champions League 1st round qualifier in 2011 in a 1-1 draw against Swedish club Malmö FF.

The occasional errors from his first two seasons have been almost entirely wiped out and with 11 clean sheets for the champions and strong performances for the Faroese under-21 team, Gestsson was a natural choice for the goalkeeper-award this year.

Albert Ellefsen, ÍF Fuglafjørður
Coach of the Year

For the second year running, the Coach of the Year award went to ÍF Fuglafjørður’s coach; this time to Albert Ellefsen who took over after the Dane Flemming Christensen’s lone season in the Faroes last year.

With some of the players having left the club before this season, not many had expected ÍF to repeat the runners-up position this year, but with a couple of new inclusions to the squad and giving some of the youngsters the opportunity to show their worth, Ellefsen managed to steer his men to another second place.

Hørður Askham, B36 Tórshavn
Young Player of the Year

Having played just a handful of matches in the premier division before, 19-year old Hørður Askham - previously a midfielder - made a real breakthrough as a central defender for B36 this term and has also been a reliable centre-back for the Faroese under-21 team, where he scored the 2-1 goal against Germany in October, although they lost 3-2 in the end.

Golden Boot to
Klæmint A. Olsen, NSÍ Runavík

Having been amongst the top-five goal scorers in the previous three seasons, striker Klæmint Olsen climbed to the very top this season with 21 league goals.

Having scored only four goals before round 14, Olsen really turned it on in the second half of the season by scoring 17 goals in the last 14 matches of the league.

Olsen was also rewarded for his late charge and was selected for the Faroe Islands games against Kazakhstan and Austria in October where his aggressive style gave the Austrian defenders problems when he came on for the last 15 minutes of the game.

Defender of the Year: Johan Troest Davidsen, HB Tórshavn

Midfielder of the Year: Fróði Benjaminsen, HB Tórshavn

Forward of the Year: Páll Klettskarð, KÍ Klaksvík

Team of the Year:

Goalkeeper: Teitur Gestsson, HB Tórshavn

Defenders: Bárður Hansen (Víkingur), Johan Troest Davidsen (HB Tórshavn), Høgni Zachariassen (ÍF Fuglafjørður), Pól Jóhannus Justinussen (NSÍ Runavík).

Midfielders: Christian R. Mouritsen (HB Tórshavn), Fróði Benjaminsen (HB Tórshavn), Símun Samuelsen (HB Tórshavn)

Forwards: Páll Klettskarð (KÍ Klaksvík), Klæmint Olsen (NSÍ Runavík), Finnur Justinussen (Víkingur)

The votes were cast by the captains and the coaches of the 10 Effodeildin teams as well as the national coach and the press.

Previous Player of the Year Awards:
Player of the Year Awards 2012
Player of the Year Awards 2011
Player of the Year Awards 2010
Player of the Year Awards 2009
Player of the Year Awards 2008
Player of the Year Awards 2007
Player of the Year Awards 2006
Player of the Year Awards 2005

| Faroese Soccer |
| Home of Soccer and Equipment |