The Player of the Year ceremony was held on Friday 21 November 2014:

Updated Friday 28 November:

Grotesque mix-up in counting of votes for the player of the year award: Adeshina Lawal replaces Lukasz Cieslewicz!

Having named Polish midfielder Lukasz Cieslewicz as Player of the Year on Friday 21 November, the organizers of the event announced on Thursday 27 November that there had been a mix-up in the counting of votes for the Player of the Year award which meant that B36 forward Adeshina Lawal was the rightful winner of the award, one vote ahead of original winner, team-mate Lukasz Cieslewicz, who is now stripped off the title.  

As there was full transparency in the counting of the votes, which had been published in the newspaper on Monday, the mistake was fortunately – after all, although embarrassing – discovered as they hadn’t used the Blatter-system. So, officially:  2014 Player of the Year is Adeshina Lawal of B36 Tórshavn.

Adeshina Lawal, B36 Tórshavn
Player of the Year

With 13 goals and another 11 assists, Nigerian striker Adeshina Lawal was one of the main forces behind B36’s title and not least the two goals he scored in the 3-2 win away to NSÍ Runavík in round 23 (of 27) were crucial as B36 were trailing 2-0 and looked to be losing their third match in succession.

Few can compete with the speed of Lawal and his dribbling skills, and when you link those abilities with the services of Lukasz Cieslewich, Jákup á Borg and Róaldur Jacobsen behind him, you have an attacking force that is capable of penetrating any defence.

Lawal joined B36 in 2013 where he had a strong second half of the season, maybe benefiting from Cieslewicz who was getting into shape after an injury-plagued first half of the season, and this year Lawal was outstanding throughout the season.

At the end of the season it was announced that he had signed a two-year contract with ÍF Fuglafjørður.

Teitur M. Gestsson, HB Tórshavn
Goalkeeper of the Year

Teitur M. Gestsson was voted best goalkeeper of the year for the second year in succession after yet another outstanding season between the sticks at HB.

With 12 cleans sheets, Gestsson equalled Jákup Mikkelsen’s record for B36 Tórshavn in 2005, the first year the season had expanded to 27 rounds. Mikkelsen keeps his record for fewest goals conceded though - with 17, while Gestsson was beaten 19 times this season (he was injured in the 1-1 draw with B36 where he was deputized by Heðin Stenberg).

Sámal Erik Hentze, B36 Tórshavn
Coach of the Year

As coach for the title winners, Sámal Erik Hentze was always going to be favourite to pick up the coach award - not least because several of the pundits didn’t expect too much from B36 this season – which was a bit pessimistic having in mind B36’s third place from the previous year and some of their very good players; not least Cieslewicz.

However, Hentze knew how to blend some less experienced with the more established players and he should get credit for sending on inexperienced substitutes who would win the game for him – for example away to ÍF Fuglafjørður where Árni G. Nielsen scored twice as B36 came from behind to win 2-1.

Hentze is the first coach to have guided both the big Tórshavn clubs to the title as he also was at the helm of HB Tórshavn who won in 2009.

Three days after receiving the award, Hentze made a shock-announcement that he was stepping down as coach, citing he didn’t have time for the coaching job as he is too busy running his construction company.

In 2009 he also quit as coach for HB when the title had been secured with a similar reason, but returned as coach for AB Argir mid-season the following year.

Bárður Hansen, Víkingur
Young Player of the Year

Víkingur’s 22-year-old attacking minded right back Bárður Hansen, who made his debut for the club as a 16-year old, continued his high-quality displays this season and scored three goals and set up another eight.

His stable and energetic performances have also caught the eye of national coach Lars Olsen who has included him in the national squad, although he hasn’t made his debut yet.

Golden Boot to
Klæmint A. Olsen, NSÍ Runavík

24-year-old striker Klæmint Olsen secured his second golden boot in succession with 22 goals this term; one better than last year.

During the latter stages, the excitement was whether Olsen would manage to break Súni Fríði Barbá’s and Uni Arge’s scoring records of 24 goals in a season, as he had scored 20 with four rounds remaining, but he only managed two goals in the last four matches.

Some have pointed out that Olsen only scored two goals against the top-two sides and that 15 goals came against the bottom-three. However, Olsen scored against all teams but Víkingur.

Defender of the Year: Johan Troest Davidsen, HB Tórshavn

Midfielder of the Year: Lukasz Cieslewicz, B36 Tórshavn

Forward of the Year: Adeshina Lawal, B36 Tórshavn

Team of the Year:

Goalkeeper: Teitur Gestsson, HB Tórshavn

Defenders: Bárður Hansen (Víkingur), Johan Troest Davidsen (HB Tórshavn), Hørdur Askham (B36 Tórshavn), Alex Mellemgaard (B36 Tórshavn).

Midfielders: Árni Frederiksberg (NSÍ Runavík), Hallur Hansson (Víkingur), Lukasz Cieslewicz (B36 Tórshavn), Hans Pauli Samuelsen (EB/Streymur).
Forwards: Klæmint Olsen (NSÍ Runavík), Adeshina Lawal (B36 Tórshavn)

The votes were cast by the captains and the coaches of the 10 Effodeildin teams as well as the national coach and the press.

Previous Player of the Year Awards:
Player of the Year Awards 2013
Player of the Year Awards 2012
Player of the Year Awards 2011
Player of the Year Awards 2010
Player of the Year Awards 2009
Player of the Year Awards 2008
Player of the Year Awards 2007
Player of the Year Awards 2006
Player of the Year Awards 2005

Faroe Islands Football News
Soccer and Equipment home