October 26, 2013:
Round 27 of the premier division "Effodeildin":

NSÍ Runavík - HB Tórshavn 4-2 (2-1)
1-0 Klæmint Olsen
1-1 Heini Vatnsdal
2-1 Pól Jóhannus Justinussen
3-1 Andy Olsen
3-2 Heini Vatnsdal
4-2 Klæmint Olsen

For HB, the competition ended a week ago when they became champions, but NSÍ were playing for a place in Europe next summer as they had to win today and at the same time hope that B36 would not beat ÍF Fuglafjørður, and these circumstances were evident from the start where NSÍ were just a whisker from taking the lead in the opening minute of the game when Klæmint Olsen fired just wide.

But HB’s defence, which started without centre-back Johan Troest Davidsen, was shaky and paid the price after 10 minutes when veteran Sjúrður Jacobsen released Andy Olsen down the left to serve the ball to Klæmint Olsen who slid the ball in at the far post.

Few minutes later HB saved off the line before they had their first scoring opportunity of their own shortly after when Alex dos Santos forced Kristian Joensen to make a good save and midway through the line Einar Hansen saved off the line to deny HB the equalizer.

NSÍ had left HB with the initiative after the lead and HB’s dominance paid dividend after 35 minutes when Fróði Bejaminsen  - instead of making the cross as most others would have done – played the ball across field and a bit backwards to Tróndur Jensen, who found Andrew av Fløtum who turned in the penalty area to play the always surging Heini Vatnsdal clear to grab the equalizer from close range.

But HB were trailing at half-time though as NSÍ regained the lead five minutes from half-time through a low drive from Pól Jóhannus Justinussen.

NSÍ came storming out of the blocks from the start of the second half and had two golden scoring opportunities before they made one count in the 48th minute, when Andy Olsen scored following a corner to make it 3-1, and as B36 Tórshavn were drawing with ÍF Fuglafjørður, NSÍ were at this stage on the way to European football next summer.

HB created some half-chances, and Christian R. Mouritsen’s header was cleared off the line, and at the other end NSÍ had great chances to increase their lead before HB got right back into the game in the 75th minute, when Benjaminsen flicked Santos’s cross across to Vatnsdal who again scored from a clear position.

At this stage, B36 were leading 3-1 against ÍF, so an NSÍ-win wouldn’t save their European ticket, but NSÍ were still going for the win which they made sure three minutes from the end when Karl Løkin’s powerful corner found the head of an unmarked Klæmint Olsen to head home and thereby also securing himself the golden boot this season with his 21st goal of the season, one ahead of KÍ Klaksvík’s Páll Klettskarð who scored a hat trick today.

But whether it’s fair that Klæmint Olsen gets the top scorer honour by himself can be debated as he is credited for this goal which must be said to be an error by the referee, as two other players touches the ball before it enters the goal (Olsen is no. 10.).

With HB’s two goals today and a tally of 68, they also set a record as the most scoring team ever in the in the top league; two better than the previous record of 66, which have been obtained by EB/Streymur in 2011 and HB in 2005, but in both of those cases it was only enough for the runner-up position in the table.

ÍF Fuglafjørður - B36 Tórshavn 1-3 (0-1)
0-1 Lukasz Cieslewicz (pen)
1-1 Bartal Eliasen
1-2 Jákup á Borg
1-3 Lukasz Cieslewicz

As long as NSÍ were winning, B36 also need to win to pip NSÍ for the Europa League ticket. And it looked good for B36 after five minutes as they were awarded a penalty, but Jákup á Borg missed from the spot as he hit the post.

However, B36 got another opportunity from the spot in the 37th minute, and this time Lukasz Cieslewicz converted safely. 

ÍF drew level 10 minutes after half-time when a clear Bartal Eliasen headed in.

The parity lasted for a quarter of an our when á Borg made a mend for his penalty miss after Súni Olsen had played him through with a long pass.

And three minutes later, in the 71st minute, Polish forward Cieslewicz scored his second goal of the day to make it 3-1 to the visitors and to seal the Europa League spot next summer.

KÍ Klaksvík - 07 Vestur 7-1 (4-1)
1-0 Sørmundur Kalsø
2-0 Johan Jacobsen
3-0 Páll Klettskarð
4-0 Páll Klettskarð
4-1 Holgar Durhuus    
5-1 Tórur Justesen
6-1 Páll A. Klettskarð
7-1 Ísak Simonsen

Having failed to win a match at home since 28 April, KÍ went amok today by winning 7-1 and romping to a 4-0 lead after 18 minutes!

Páll Klettskarð scored three of the goals, but just missed out on the top-scorer title, a goal behind Klæmint Olsen of NSÍ Runavík.

TB Tvøroyri - Víkingur 1-1 (0-0)
0-1 Jann Ingi Petersen
1-1 Owngoal (Hjartvard Hansen)

After a goalless first half, Víkingur broke the deadlock midway through the second half through midfielder Jann Ingi Petersen.

But TB rescued a point in added time when Hjartvard Hansen steered the ball behind his own goalkeeper for a TB equalizer.

In the 80th minute, 41-year old defender Óli Johannesen came off the bench for what was likely his last 10 minutes in the top division. Johannesen is the most capped player for the Faroe Islands with 83 caps.

Although a memorable year for Víkingur who won the cup competition and progressed to the second of the Europa League's qualifying round, their sixt place in the league is their worst position since their foundation in 2008.

AB Argir - EB/Streymur 0-3 (0-2)
0-1 Arnbjørn Hansen
0-2 Hans Pauli Samuelsen
0-3 Arnbjørn Hansen 

For the first time since 2006, EB/Streymur ended outside the top-two position.

Arnbjørn Hansen, who has just recently come back from injury, opened the scoring shortly before half time before Hans Pauli Samuelsen doubled the lead for the visitors just three minutes later – and still before the break.

AB had midfielder Kári Nielsen sent off late in the second half, before Hansen scored his second goal of the day a minute before the end of normal time.

With only seven goals to his name this season, Hansen for the first time since 2006 is not EB/Streymur’s top scorer. That was Leif Niclasen with 17 goals. Part of the story is that Hansen has had much of his season ruined by injury.

Faroe Islands Football | Fixtures/Results | Table | Top Scorers