EB/Streymur win 3rd cup
in 4 years

August 06, 2010: The Cup Competition – The Final:
Played við Djúpumýru in Klaksvík

EB/Streymur - ÍF Fuglafjørður 1-0 (1-0)
1-0 Sorin Anghel

EB/Streymur won their 3rd cup final in 4 years as they this evening beat ÍF Fuglafjørður 1-0, in the final which was played við Djúpumýru in Klaksvík.

ÍF went close to taking the lead after 8 minutes when Fritleif í Lambanum set up Nenad Saric, but René Tórgarð in the EB/Streymur goal made a fine save. However, í Lambanum should have put ÍF in front from the rebound, but he missed from close range.

25 minutes through the match EB/Streymur got the decisive goal as Gudmund Nielsen got to the byline to make the cross, which in the end was put in by Rumanian Sorin Anghel in his 250th match for the club since he joined EB/Streymur in 2001. According to FaroeSoccer.com he received a Faroese (formally Danish) citizenship in June this year. That should mean he would be eligible to play for the Faroe Islands.

In first half's stoppage time Bartal Eliasen went close with a header from a corner, but it was just over the crossbar.

EB/Streymur were in full control during the first 25 minutes of the second half when ÍF finally managed to build some pressure and create some decent chances. The best chance fell to Jan Ellingsgaard who headed narrowly wide of the far post.

With 5 minutes left of normal time, karl Løkin was in a fine position to finish just inside the penalty area, but he failed to hit the target, however.

In the dying moments Hans Pauli Samuelsen should have made it 2-0 for EB/Streymur as he was played clear, but he squandered the opportunity.

See results and goalscorers from all of the cup matches here

Faroe Islands Football main-page
Home of Soccer & Equipment

Share this page: