B36 Tórshavn beat KÍ Klaksvík 2-1 to clinch the Cup title

October 14, 2006: The Cup Competition – The Final:

KÍ Klaksvík – B36 Tórshavn 1-2 (0-1)
0-1 Fróði Benjaminsen (pen)
1-1 Atli Danielsen (pen)
1-2 Ahmed Davy Sylla

KÍ was the better team for the first 10 minutes of the match and were close to taking the lead after only 4 minutes when Hjalgrím Elttør intercepted a B36-pas on the midfield on the right hand side and he raced into the penalty area, but his shot/pass went wide of the far post and a KÍ forward was just a fraction too late to connect with the ball in center of goal.

The match then evened out for the next 10 minutes and after that it was B36 who had the majority of possession and created the better scoring opportunities. KÌ rarely threatened the B36 goal.

The clock had surpassed the 45 minutes of the first half when B36's Ivorian forward Sylla received the ball in KÍ's penalty area and as he turned, he fell to the floor and the referee awarded B36 with a penalty. The KÍ players protested angrily and accused the B36-forward for diving. It was difficult to see from the stands if it was a dive or not, but Sylla has demonstrated before that he is as a “good faller”…

However, Fróði Benjaminsen made no mistake from the spot and put B36 ahead.

But it took KÍ only about 2 minutes to equalize in the second half, and again it was a penalty. KÍ had a corner on the left and the in-swinging cross seemed to get stucked under the arm of a B36-player who defended the near post. The referee awarded the penalty and Atli Danielsen coolly slotted it home for the equalizer.

But B36 soon took control of the second half as KÍ showed practically nothing. B36 created several scoring opportunities, and once they headed the ball on the left upright. Other times it was KÍ's goalkeeper, Meinhardt Joensen, who saved KÍ.

But in the 83rd minute, B36 took the lead again when Sylla received the ball in KÍ's penalty and after dribbling passed 2 defenders, he put the ball behind KÍ's goalkeeper for a 2-1 lead.

KÍ had nothing to answer with, and time quickly ran out and B36 won 2-1 and were crowned winners of the Prime Minister's Cup 2006.

(all the results from the Cup competition 2006)


After the final, B36 coach for the last 2 seasons, Sigfríður Clementsen, announced that he will not be coaching B36's first-team next season.

New coach will be Kurt Mørkøre, a former prolific goal scorer for KÍ klaksvík, who has lived in Norway for the last years.

Share this page: